Tony Kershaw

Director of Law and Assurance

If calling, please ask for

Jack Caine on 033 022 28941

Email:

jack.caine@westsussex.gov.uk

County Hall Chichester West Sussex PO19 1RQ

www.westsussex.gov.uk

● © DemService

https://www.facebook.com/aruntalkwithus







Working with Town and Parish Councils

3 June 2019

A meeting of the Joint Eastern Arun Area Committee will be held at 7.00 pm on Tuesday, 11 June 2019 at The White Swan, Chichester Road, Arundel, BN18 0AD

Tony Kershaw

Director of Law and Assurance

Your local Councillors

West Sussex County Councillors:



Ian Buckland Littlehampton



Roger Elkins East Preston & Ferring



Gary Markwell Arundel & Courtwick



Daniel Purchese Rustington



Deborah Urquhart Angmering & Findon



James Walsh Littlehampton East

Arun District Councillors:

BICKNELL - (Angmering & Findon); ROBERTS - (Arundel & Walberton); BOWER - (East Preston); OLIVER-REDGATE - (Ferring); B BLANCHARD-COOPER - (Littlehampton); BENNETT - (Rustington)

Town and Parish Councillors:

Mr John Oldfield <u>Angmering</u> **Mr Mark Phillips** Arundel **Burpham** Mr Paul Challen Clapham Mr Giles Allen **Mr Steve Toney** East Preston **Ferring Mrs Carol Robertson** Mr Robin Carr Findon Houghton Mr Peter Looker Mrs Geraldine Walker Kingston <u>Littlehampton</u> Mrs Michelle Molloy Lyminster & Crossbush **Ms Tracey Frampton Mr Paul Isaacs Patching** Poling **Mr Bryan Curtis Mrs Alison Cooper Rustington** South Stoke Mr Ryan Hayden **Mr Archie Naughton** Warningcamp

Invite you to come along to the Joint Eastern Arun Area Committee

Area Committees consider a range of issues concerning the local area, and where relevant make decisions. It is a meeting in public and has a regular 'talk with us' item where the public can ask questions of their local elected representatives.

Agenda

7.00PM 1. **Welcome**

7.00PM 2. **Appointments**

(a) Appointment of Chairman to the Joint Eastern Arun Area Committee (JEAAC) and the County Local Committee.

The Chairman for 2019/20 will be a County Councillor. Nominations will be invited from County Councillors (all Members to vote)

- (b) Confirmation of a Lead Member from Arun District Council and JEAAC Vice Chairman
 This appointment was made by the Leader of Arun District Council and is confirmed as Cllr Jamie Bennett.
- (c) Confirmation of the Lead Town and Parish Members.

This is confirmed as Cllr Steve Toney.

(d) Appointment to Chairman of the Highways and Transport Subgroup.

Nominations will be invited from Parish and Town representatives.

(e) Appointment of Members to the Highways and Transport Sub group.

All Members of the County Council, 1 representative from each Town and Parish and 2 representatives from the District Council, who are not already appointed as a Member of another authority.

(f) Appointment of representatives to the Community Initiative Funding Sub Group.

One representative from each tier to be appointed. The current subgroup is as follows: Deborah Urquhart (WSCC) Emma Neno (ADC) Geraldine Walker (Parish representative)

(g) Appointment of representatives to the Conservation Area Advisory Committee.

The Terms of Reference for the above advisory committee require annual nominations for one representative and one substitute from a Town or Parish Council. The current appointed representative for JEAAC is Councillor Cllr Mrs Walker with Cllr Mr Steve Toney as substitute.

7.10PM 3. **Terms of Reference** (Pages 7 - 14)

The Committee are asked to note the following documents (attached).

a. Terms of Reference for the Joint Eastern Arun Area Committee

and

b. Terms of Reference for the Highways an Transport Subgroup.

7.15PM 4. **Declarations of Interest**

Members and officers must declare any pecuniary or personal interest in any business on the agenda. They shall also make declarations at any stage should any such interest become apparent during the meeting. Consideration should be given to leaving the meeting if the nature of the interest warrants it. If in doubt contact Democratic Services before the meeting.

It is recorded in the register of interests that:

- Dr Walsh is a Member of Arun District Council and Littlehampton Town Council.
- Mr Ian Buckland is a Member of Arun District Council and Littlehampton Town Council.
- Mr Daniel Purchese is a Member of Arun District Council and Littlehampton Town Council.
- Mr Roger Elkins is a Member of Arun District Council and Ferring Parish Council.
- Mr Jamie Bennett is a Members of Rustington Parish Council

These interests only need to be declared at the meeting if there is an agenda item to which they relate.

7.15PM 5. **Minutes** (Pages 15 - 18)

To confirm the Minutes of the previous meeting held on **5 March 2019**

7.20PM 6. **Urgent Matter**

To consider any items not on the agenda, which the Chairman of the meeting is of the opinion should be considered as a matter of urgency by reason of special circumstances.

7.20PM 7. **'Talk with us' - Public Questions**

To invite questions from members of the public present at the meeting.

The Committee would encourage members of the public to submit their questions at least 3 days in advance of the meeting to allow more substantive answers to be given.

Please contact Jack Caine on 0330 222 8941 or via email jack.caine@Westsussex.gov.uk

7.35PM 8. **Community Police Issues**

A local Police representative will be in attendance to update Members on Community Policing issues and answer questions.

Details of reported crimes can be found at http://www.police.uk

7.50PM 9. **Your Energy Sussex**

The Committee will receive a presentation on Your Energy Sussex, a Council backed energy supplier.

8.00PM 10. **Community Initiative Microfund** (Pages 19 - 24)

The Committee is asked to consider the attached report.

8.05PM 11. **Community Initiative Fund** (Pages 25 - 36)

Report by the Director of Law and Assurance.

The County Council Members of the Committee are invited to consider pitches made to the Community Initiative Fund via The West Sussex Crowd and pledge funding accordingly.

8.15PM 12. **Highways and Transport Sub Group** (Pages 37 - 40)

Notes from the last meeting of the JEAAC Highways and Transport Sub Group held on 23 May 2019.

Members are asked to note the report and consider any recommendations.

8.20PM 13. **Nominations to School and Academy Governing Bodies** (Pages 41 - 42)

The County Council Members of the Committee are asked to note the vacancy listed.

8.30PM 14. **Items to be raised by Town and Parish Council representatives.**

To consider any items from Town or Parish Council representatives that have not been covered by the agenda and are thought to be in the interest of the whole Committee. Town and Parish Council representatives are reminded that any Highways and Transport items should be taken to the JEAAC Highways and Transport Sub Group in the first instance.

The Chairman would encourage members to submit their question at least 3 days in advance of the meeting to allow a more substantive answer to be given.

Please contact Jack Caine on 0330 222 8941 or via email at Jack.Caine@westsussex.gov.uk

8.35PM 15. Items for consideration at future meetings

Members are invited to suggest items for future agendas.

8.40PM 16. **Date of next meeting**

The next meeting of the Committee will be held on 5 November 2019 at 7pm at Littlehampton Town Council.

Members wishing to place an item on the agenda should notify Jack Caine on 033 022 28941 or via email at: jack.caine@westsussex.gov.uk

To: All members of the Joint Eastern Arun Area Committee

Filming and use of social media

During this meeting the public are allowed to film the Committee or use social media, providing it does not disrupt the meeting. You are encouraged to let officers know in advance if you wish to film. Mobile devices should be switched to silent for the duration of the meeting.